CMS Development

nlafakis
Top Contributor | Elite Partner

Having one field option in a multi-checkbox, change the default property of another field:

SOLVE

Hey all!,

So I'm trying to do some nifty stuff as per usual and I've seen SOME tools in HS that kind of go in this direction but, doesn't exactly get there 100%. 

On my form I have a multi-checkbox field called Ice Cream
It has 3 options: A, B, and C
Further down in the form I have a hidden field that is also a checkbox called Flavors

It has 3 options: #1, #2, #3

I'm looking for a way to make the hidden field Flavors auto select #1, when A is checked in the Ice Cream field.

I'm aware that this can be done with jQuery and I have some background in it so I'm willing to take that route first and just modify the pasted code in the module I'm using. But I was just wondering if anyone else had heard of this and found a solution to it, or could maybe point me in the right direction towards that. Thanks so much in advance.

In the event this is something, "new," I will of course post the solution as soon as it's completed.

0 Upvotes
1 Accepted solution
piersg
Solution
Key Advisor

Having one field option in a multi-checkbox, change the default property of another field:

SOLVE

Hi @nlafakis, if you want Ice cream A to select Flavor 1, B selects 2, and C selects 3, then you could do this:

var label1 = document.getElementById('[ID FOR THE LABEL OF THE FIRST MULTI CHECKBOX GROUP}');
var options1 = label1.nextElementSibling.childNodes[0].childNodes;
var label2 = document.getElementById('[ID FOR THE LABEL OF THE SECOND MULTI CHECKBOX GROUP}');
var options2 = label2.nextElementSibling.childNodes[0].childNodes;
for(i = 0; i < options1.length; i++) {
    let check = options1[i].children[0].children[0];
    let index = i;
    check.addEventListener('click', (e) => {
        let checked = e.target.checked;