CMS Development

LauraJJ

Changing the font in the body of a template - CSS

Hi, 

I am currently using an email template and although I can manually change the font in the body of the email (chosen Arial) when I add a personlised token and send a test email to myself the font for this token is not Arial. 

I am presuming this is something in the CSS side (eg the set font type for the particular email template that I am using)

I have very little knowldge/experience of CSS, would someone be so kind as to tell me where in the CSS style needs changingto ensure all text within that email template (inlcuding tokens) is Arial. 

Thank you in advance. 

0 Upvotes
3 Replies 3
ipowell
Contributor

Hi Laura!

What I ended up doing for my email templates is adding some css in the head of the template.

This is where you can add in additional styles if you want.This is where you can add in additional styles if you want.

I don't know how familiar you are with html and css, but, what you can do is change the font for the body of the email template. 

body {
      font-family: {{ primary_font }};
  }

In the example above, I used the HubL code to pull the primary font from your settings. If you wanted to select a different font, you would use something like this:

body {
font-family: Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif;
}

I normally use google fonts myself. You can also apply this to the paragraph or h1, h2 etc, just like you would in a css stylesheet. 

To quote this page from w3schools: "The font-family property should hold several font names as a "fallback" system, to ensure maximum compatibility between browsers/operating systems. If the browser does not support the first font, it tries the next font.

Start with the font you want, and end with a generic family, to let the browser pick a similar font in the generic family, if no other fonts are available" You can read more about this here.