Blog, Website & Page Publishing

hollykeller
Participant

Short, readable, branded redirecting URL

SOLVE

I am new to HubSpot. My old CMS allowed you to create a custom short URL for a page that would redirect to the full URL, which was very useful for print campaigns. For example, a short URL like website.com/samples would redirect to the true URL of website.com/industrial/products/request-a-free-sample. Is this possible with HubSpot?

Note - the social URL shortener is not ideal because it won't look like our true domain and it won't be easily readable/memorable for print use. 

1 Accepted solution
Phil_Vallender
Solution
Most Valuable Member | Diamond Partner

SOLVE

Hi @hollykeller

You actually achieve the outcome you descirbe using URL redirection in HubSpot. It's not an ideal use of the technology but it would allow you to forward traffic from one short URL on your domain, to another longer one. 

Using Bitly is a great solution for replacing the default shortened domain with a more branded one, and you can create customised short URLs on the Bitly platform. I use Bitl and a short domain for this purpose. The domain you use with Bitly, however, can not be the same as your main website domain of course. 

Hope this helps

Phil Vallender | HubSpot Website Agency

View solution in original post

13 Replies 13
Rebrandly_Fay
Participant

SOLVE

Hello @hollykeller ! I wanted to invite you to check out Rebrandly to create your short, memorable URLs. We are in the process of launching a Hubspot integration that will allow you to use these links in your social media posts and you can try it out now (see instructions below). With Rebrandly you can also create corresponding QR codes right in our tool. There are a ton of added benefits beyond just the short URL, including analytics and click data, and with our paid plans, you can even edit the destination URL of your redirect after it's been published (this is so useful!).