Account & Settings

Rccall

Change of appearance

Screenshot (1).png

The right hand panel on the above has appeared just recently. I know it wasnt there before because it has compressed the rest of the info on the page. How do I get rid of it?  Grateful for any help - its just a bit irritating. Cheers

0 Upvotes
2 Replies 2
Dylan
HubSpot Product Team
HubSpot Product Team

Change of appearance

Hey @Rccall, thank you for posting this! I'm a product manager on the HubSpot CRM team and I can provide some detail here. 

As @Phil_Vallender mentioned, for *most* customers there is a collapsable arrow to close this panel. However, we've recently made the decision to remove the ability to collapse this panel for 4 reasons: 

1) It slowed down each page load, by removing this collapse panel we've decreased the load time for each record page by an average of 10%. 

2) We found that less than 2% of customers were collapsing this panel regularly and it took up a lot of space for those who wanted to leave it open. By making the default state "open" we were able to show more data on the page to the 98% of users who never collapsed the panel. 

3) Soon, we will be releasing functionality that makes the timeline that you see in the center of the record more dense and show more data on a single screen. If you rewind to the day we built this collapsable panel it the first place, it was because the timeline did not have this denser view. Since that is coming soon, the collapsed panel will lose a lot of its utility. 
4) This panel has valuable information in it that can be missed if not opened. Sometimes, particularly newer customers, would have this panel hidden and never realize it could be expanded to show additional data to help you gain full context into a record. By defaulting this to an "open" state, we can ensure that customers don't miss any data that they need to gain context into a given record.