APIs & Integrations

EShumely
Participant | Diamond Partner

passing timestamp variable through API.

SOLVE

I'm pulling the data from a google sheet. 

this is an example of a value - 10/4/2021 16:10:23

How do I pass this as a date? I haven't done this before so I have no experience with converting dates.  the examples I found weren't working for me. 

can you provide the right function for me to get the right date format?

Thanks. (I read HubSpot page about it, bcz I have no experience with dates the info they provided didn't help) 

0 Upvotes
1 Accepted solution
EShumely
Solution

SOLVE

@piersg that's similar to what I was thinking. if I pass just the date the hours will be midnight by default.  but it wasn't the case. even when I chose the hours as 0,0,0,0 it still wasn't the right hours. finally today I got the answer. 

there is a method called 

setUTCHours and you need to use it. 
var date = new Date(timestemp).setUTCHours(0000);

View solution in original post

6 Replies 6
piersg
Key Advisor

SOLVE

@EShumely If you want to convert that date (including the time) directly in to a unix timestamp in JS, you could do this

var date = '10/4/2021 16:10:23'
var unixDate = Math.floor(new Date(date).getTime() / 1000);
console.log(unixDate);
// returns "1633360223"

To follow up on @davidoff2drew's suggestion, if the data from Google is always a string in the format "10/4/2021 16:10:23" then you could use the HubL split filter to remove the time. e.g.

{% set dateAndTime = "10/4/2021 16:10:23" %}
{% set date = dateAndTime|split(' ') %}
{{date[0]}}

In JS, you can split a string like this:

var date = '10/4/2021 16:10:23'
console.log(date.split(" ")[0]);
// returns "10/4/2021"

EShumely
Solution

SOLVE

@piersg that's similar to what I was thinking. if I pass just the date the hours will be midnight by default.  but it wasn't the case. even when I chose the hours as 0,0,0,0 it still wasn't the right hours. finally today I got the answer. 

there is a method called