APIs & Integrations

Web_Dev
Participant

Webhook response from external system

Hello, I'm very new to Hubspot and I need to create a process to pass the company fields to the external API whenever there is a new company created/updated. 

I see some documents suggesting webhook to create subscriptions to the crm object (company in my case) and pass that details to the external system and I already tried creating an app and integrating to the webhook with the company subscription.

Here's the url to the application: 

https://app.hubspot.com/developer/8251058/application/226071/webhooks

We need to pass the details to the external REST API and external REST API will use Hubspot search API to get the company fields based on passed ObjectID through webhook payload. Now how can I get a response from external API in case of any errors from external API (For example, if the company not found or any property not exist, connections)? How to update those response fields from external API into hubspot custom created properties? Please please advise. 

0 Upvotes
5 Replies 5
Willson
HubSpot Employee
HubSpot Employee

Hey @Web_Dev,

In order to assist here, would you be able to elaborate on the following:

Now how can I get a response from external API in case of any errors from external API (For example, if the company not found or any property not exist, connections)

Are you looking to be able to make these errors that you encounter externally, surfaceable via HubSpot? If so, this is not something we'd support. 

In order to do this, you would need to have some middleware that would be able to handle the errors and then update accordingly. 

As said above, this is my understanding so if I am wrong, any elaboration on the above point would be great!

Product Manager @ HubSpot
0 Upvotes
Web_Dev
Participant

Thank you for your response.