APIs & Integrations

BGanek

Trying to send an already created marketing email to another email address via the API

SOLVE

Hello,

I am new to the HubSpot community but I wanted to make sure that my business case can work before trying to implement it because I'm seeing yet how to do it.

We have a marketing email that is loaded with a static list and then sent out.  What I am trying to do is when our ERP has a new email address to send the email to, get it into HubSpot and have it send the email to that new email address with no user interaction.

If not, I believe I can create the email as an automated email and then use the API to change a property in the Company object to kick off the automated email.  Is that a valid approach or is there a way to directly access the email that have been created and send it to an additional email address?

0 Upvotes
1 Accepted solution
JBeatty
Solution
Guide | Diamond Partner
Guide | Diamond Partner

Trying to send an already created marketing email to another email address via the API

SOLVE

Hi @BGanek,

Your intuition is entirely correct here. You could create the contact through API, set some property on the contact(or do list membership), which could trigger a workflow to send the automated email off to the contact. I have done this before extensively with one of my clients, sending out over 30 different workflow automated emails through APIs, so I can personally vouch for this approach.

But it is important to understand that automated emails require Marketing Hub  Professional, or Enterprise, if this is not a problem, you are good to go. If instead, you have CMS Hub Professional or Enterprise, or Legacy Marketing Hub Basic, you can purchase the transactional email add-on, which will give you access to an API to send emails directly from an API call.

✔️ Was I able to help answer your question? Help the community by marking it as a solution.

Joshua Beatty
Software Developer with Pearagon

Still have questions? Let's Talk