APIs & Integrations

Not applicable

Trigger webhook by form submit

Hi!
Newbie here..
So, I'm trying to trigger my webhook, by using a form submission.
As I've understood it's not possible to trig by for example "num_conversion_events", meaning when the form submission count changes.
Is it any way to do this without using work flows?

Thankful for any help and hints!

Edit:
Just saw this on the hubspot academy
"Posting HubSpot contacts data to another system, such as a CRM, when that contact fills out a particular form on your site."

Ok but how.. ? The webhook should be a POST i assume? But how do I know which data will be posted?

0 Upvotes
15 Replies 15
Derek_Gervais
HubSpot Alumni
HubSpot Alumni

Hi @newbie,

Can you send me a link to the form you're using in HubSpot? It's tough to give specific answers in the abstract.

0 Upvotes
Derek_Gervais
HubSpot Alumni
HubSpot Alumni

Hi @newbie,

I don't for your specific case, it depends on the form you're working with and the contact property you care about. For example, if I have a form that has the following fields:

• First Name
  • Last Name
  • Email
  • Phone Number

The fields would (more than likely) correspond to the following contact properties:

• firstname
  • lastname
  • email
  • phone

If I had set up a workflow to enroll contacts who had filled in this form, and to send a POST webhook to my server, I would then see something like this hit my server:

By parsing that JSON, I can then pull out the firstname, lastname, email, and phone properties to use in my external system. Since the webhook payload will contain every contact property for which a contact has a value, you should be able to find any property by parsing the webhook JSON.

0 Upvotes
Not applicable

@Derek_Gervais Thanks for the reply!