APIs & Integrations

drbipes
Contributor

Is it possible to create a global domain block list using the Forms API?

Goal: An app to integrate into the email field blocked domain list.  We have many forms and every time we need to add a domain to block the list has to be copied and pasted manually.

Details: I do not want to have to have forms recreated outside of Hubspot.  The idea is that there is a global list of domains to block, or it could pull the domain from an existing hubspot list (ex: competitors).  Possibly a check box on the form to tell it to use the global block list, similar to the "Block Free Domains" checkbox.  Or a list of forms to use the global domain block on.

I am not sure if something like this is possible but many people would like this to be a feature of Hubspot.

Method?

I am not a programmer but have one on my team.  I need to be pointed in the right direction so I can explain to him what needs to be done.

Ideas:

• Update an existing form field? - use to update 
    use to update blocked email field - I see it says not to use the API
  • "validation": {
              // A set of options controlling the validation for the field
              // NOTE: These options should NOT be modified through the API. Any validation should be set up in the form settings in HubSpot.
                "name": "",
                "message": "",
                "data": "",
                "useDefaultBlockList": false,
                "blockedEmailAddresses": []
              },

Any ideas, criticisms, comments are welcome and appreciated.

0 Upvotes
1 Reply 1
WendyGoh
HubSpot Employee
HubSpot Employee

Is it possible to create a global domain block list using the Forms API?

Hey @drbipes,

Thank you for sharing such a detailed use case. You're spot on to say that it is currently not possible to block email domains on form at a portal level and looking through the ideas you shared, I do have some thoughts around it: