APIs & Integrations

esivertsen
Participant

Having problems understanding javascript API and _hsq.push()

Hey guys!
This is my first post in this forum - which I was happy to find, BTW.
It represent my highest hope so far of solving the following problem:
Attributing downloads of particular resources (software/files) from my website, to the contacts that perform them.

The problem is I am a bit of a noob when it comes to this.
So I admit I am not entirely sure what I’m doing.

My first approach was to insert javascript into my webpage header, and make Google Analytics count clicks on download links, as events:

jQuery(document).ready(function(){
jQuery(‘a[href*="/download_resource/"]’).on(‘click’,function(){
var href = jQuery(this).attr(“href”);
_gaq.push([’_trackEvent’, ‘TrackLink’, ‘Download’, href]);
});
});

As you can see, it matches a certain URL pattern which ALL file downloads have, then pushes an event to GA that includes the entire href, including some codes that identify the download file. And this part actually works. The hrefs are passed on to GA as event labels. I can then filter using regexp and count the downloads.

But the next step is to attribute a particular download, to Hubspot contacts.

Hubspot is already tracking pageviews.
So I thought I’d add an _hsq() call to the jQuery code above:

jQuery(‘a[href*="/nordic/download_resource/"]’).on(‘click’,function(){
var href = jQuery(this).attr(“href”);
_gaq.push([’_trackEvent’, ‘TrackLink’, ‘Download’, href]);

_hsq.push(["trackEvent", {
        id: "DOWNLOAD_EVENT_ID", 
        value: href
    }]);            
});

});

This is from an example of the HS javascript API that I found.

Questions and concerns:

1. I am not sure how to test that this script is working on the client side.
    Inserting the _hsq snippet() into the live server is cumbersome, and I have to ask a 3rd party to do it.