APIs & Integrations

andgom
Participant

Create associations between companies and files

Résolue

Hi, 

I am a noobie developer and I am currently trying to associate a file with a company.  So, as far as I know, it seems that associations can be done with tickets, deals, other companies, etc... You can actually get the associations between to specific object making a POST request to https://api.hubapi.com/crm/v3/associations/{fromObjectType}/{toObjectType}/batch/read?hapikey=HAPIKE...  and specifying the id of the "fromObjectType" object at the body.

This works with tickets, other companies, etc... but when I try to do it with Attachments

it returns a 400 with this body:

{
    "status": "error",
    "message": "Unable to infer object type from: attachment",
    "correlationId": "d772d739-45bd-49cc-a45c-c95ba4ff2d84"
}

I've seen that, from the CRM web, you can actually do it, you can associate a company with files or "Attachments"  at the right sidebar as you can see in the screenshot. associations.PNG

With this said, why is it possible to associate a company with a file from the CRM web and not via the API? If  I am wrong and it is possible to do this via the API, how is the object type for Attachments called in HubSpot? Also if you have a better idea or you know a better way to handle my situation how would you do it?

0 Votes
1 Solution acceptée
Aleeson
Solution
HubSpot Employee
HubSpot Employee

Résolue

Hey there andgom, cheers for engaging with the Community. I'm not a developer myself, but I can provide some insight on this one:

Attachments (on the Company or Contact Record) reflect files that were attached to some Engagement on the Contact record- Notes, emails, etc. As such, they don't interact directly with the Files API that you seem to be using here. They're also not Objects- From HubSpot's point of view, Objects are Deals, Companies, Contacts, Tickets, Line Items/Products.