APIs & Integrations

Rachelina

Create a *non subscriber* contact via API

SOLVE

Hi everyone, 

I am a developer and we have a Hubspot integration that creates and updates contacts into our clients' Hubspot account.

We noticed that shortly after a contact is created we get "The lifecycle stage for this contact was updated to subscriber" on the contact.

Is there a way to create a contact via API without it being automatically updated into subscriber?

We may push some contacts that did not opt in and we want to prevent this behavior.

Thanks in advance

0 Upvotes
1 Accepted solution
WendyGoh
Solution
HubSpot Employee
HubSpot Employee

SOLVE

Hi @Rachelina93,

Thanks for sharing your use case!

In this case, I do have two options that I'd love to share with you:

1. We can create a workflow to target only contact created via API and a lifecycle stage == Subscriber:

Screen Shot 2019-11-25 at 10.38.22 AM.png

And change the lifecycle stage to 'Other'.

OR

2. Create a custom lifecycle stage property (as the default lifecycle property is non-editable) and for this you can refer to this community thread: HubSpot Community - Quick Tip: How to create a custom Lifecycle Stage ... - HubSpot Community.

View solution in original post

0 Upvotes
7 Replies 7
WendyGoh
HubSpot Employee
HubSpot Employee

SOLVE

Hi @Rachelina,

When creating contact via HubSpot API, I would not expect it to automatically update contact's lifecycle stage into subcriber if it's not set. 

In this case, I'm suspecting that either:

1. There is a workflow ssetup to change the contact lifecycle stage to subscriber: Change the lifecycle stage of a list of contacts.

OR

2. The Lifecycle stage sync is being toggled on. With this sync toggled on, any updates to a company's Lifecycle stage value will update its associated contacts: Manage lifecycle stages sync settings.

Could we check on these and see if that's the cause of it?