💬 RevOps Discussions

kellier
Participant

Tracking upsell/downsell/renewal/churn

Hi everyone, 

I'm a product manager at a SaaS company, but we're a small team and so part of my role is in helping manage HS as an internal product, basically. I have a lot of background with HS generally, but I'm not well-versed in revenue operations and could use some guidance. 

Background: 

We use an outside partner to manage our invoices. We have to communicate very clearly to them changes to invoice amounts and relevant dates. We have both monthly and annual contract types, where some annual customers are paying monthly.

Our goal is to have a very clear view in HS into what a current invoice amount for any given customer should be, which takes into account any revenue-impacting event like upsell, downsell, renewal, or churn.

I know HS has native RR fields you can enable, but unless I'm misunderstanding, I don't think that will give us what we need in terms of current invoice totals per customer.

I have been debating a couple of ideas and trying to figure out what makes the most sense:

• Option 1: A (post-initial sale) revenue change event pipeline with stages related to each event that impacts invoice amounts/revenue: upsell, downsell, churn, renewal, contract conversion (ie monthly > annual or annual > monthly). 
    • What seems like a limitation here is that our bookkeeping partner would like to know the "old" values in addition to the "new" values (so previous contract value, new contract value, old unit count, new unit count, etc.) which I'm unsure how to do because I don't see how to reference the property values from the most recently closed deal prior to the current one in a workflow, for example.