# User permissions - Edit v Delete

**URL:** <https://community.hubspot.com/t/user-permissions-edit-v-delete/153082>\
**Category:** HubSpot Ideas\
**Tags:** account-settings\
**Created:** [July 15, 2026, 11:43am UTC](https://community.hubspot.com/t/user-permissions-edit-v-delete/153082 "2026-07-15T11:43:55Z")\
**Posts on this page:** 1\
**Page:** 1

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![KJeffries7](https://avatars.discourse-cdn.com/v4/letter/k/9fc29f/32.png) [@KJeffries7](https://community.hubspot.com/u/KJeffries7)\
**Post date:** [July 15, 2026, 11:43am UTC](https://community.hubspot.com/t/user-permissions-edit-v-delete/153082/1 "2026-07-15T11:43:55Z")

</div>

Hi,

I have come across a limitation when it comes to changing a users permissions to edit things such as tasks there is no separate option that restricts them only from deleting tasks. If I change their permission to not allow them to edit tasks this restricts them from everything including completing the task. This is a huge oversight. I would like the person the task is assigned to, to be able to complete it or change the title but not delete it. How is this not an option?
