Hi Karsten,
Thanks for the response. When adding new levels of permissions granularity, it is fairly standard practice to default existing users to their original level of functionality (i.e. in this case, to be able to see all notes).
That is what HubSpot did for existing users in this case but for some reason did not carry that over to new users in the standard template. This creates a weird user experience because, unless you are paying A LOT of attention to new feature releases and/or the exact parameters on the Standard User template, any new users created today are going to have different permissions from users created before the feature release.
I agree that Notes and Tasks are different and it is value add to have the ability to differentiate how they are treated because doing so creates new ways Notes can be used (as you describe). I don’t at all agree that it makes sense to default Notes to “Only Owned” when every HubSpot user is used to Notes being visible to all users and cannot possibly yet be using notes in the way you describe.
I’d be very curious to see how the decision to default Notes to “Only Owned” in the Standard User template was made because it does not seem possible that it was well thought out.
I will submit this as an Idea.