New Licence Model, Seats and "View only"

Hi, just found out (and please correct me if I’m wrong) that the rights management is a bit tricky when it comes to the new licences model.

The problem: No you have Core/ Enterprise Seats and “View Only” seats.

1) Promoting:

If I promote someone from “View only” to core, I have to look into the permission set where everything is set to “view only” and click on it again to get also the “edit” settings. Otherwise the user has a core seat, but with “view only” rights.

2) Downgrading:

I don’t have a solution for downgrading a user at the moment. When I want to downgrade a user from Enterprise to “View only” the settings are not saved (s. screenshot)


- probably because of the permission sets which are saying the user has the right to edit. But even when revoking all edit-rights and saving as a permission set it’s still not possible.

So how to downgrade a user’s seat?

Thank you very much
Hans

Thanks for your post, @HWegner1! The Manage Seats Knowledge Base article doesn’t address removing Core seats, but it discusses reassigning them. Do you have the same error if you assign the seat to another user?

I want to invite some subject matter experts to see if they have any suggestions.

Hey @karstenkoehler, @Lucila-Andimol, @TomM2 do you have any advice on downgrading a Core seat to View only? Or any general best practices when adding or removing Core seats?

Best,

Kennedy

Hi @kennedyp, @Lucila-Andimol

for 1) I made two screenshots:
just simply adding a core seat doesn’t change the acces. Only if I set the permissions to another permission set (e.g. customer service) and then back to the initial permission set the access rights for this particular user are set. And this has to be done for each user.

For 2) Simply setting to “view only”, even with “view only permissions” or deactivating was not working unfortunately.
Thank you
Hans

Thanks for sending those images, @HWegner1 -- Your account has access to HubSpot Support, so I recommend opening a ticket for a more thorough investigation. The Support team can access your account from the backend to get a quicker resolution. :blush:

Hi @HWegner1

I’ve never encountered your problem

but what about deactivating the user for a while and then re-activate with View only?

It might work