I just recently took over managing our HubSpot application. I’m doing a user audit and making changes to team and role names. My question is around workflows and sequences - do they auto-update with the team and role changes or do I have to manually update them?
Hi @gemgohil1202 .
Workflow and sequences don’t get auto-updated with teams and users. They are triggered on the basis of the ‘Trigger’ that we set up:
That depends on the exact changes you’re making to users, teams and permissions, I’ll try to give a few examples here.
If you’re simply changing team and role names, you’re all good. These changes are purely cosmetical.
If you’re removing a paid sales seat from a user, they simply won’t have access to sequences anymore. There isn’t any documentation on ongoing sequences but I’d assume that they would continue executing and user can’t enroll new contacts into sequences.
If you’re changing the team membership of users in your HubSpot portal, workflows will auto-update in the sense, that HubSpot will respect that new team membership. If contacts were previously rotated among team A and person 1 is now moving from team B to team A, person 1 will now be part of that contact rotation.
If there are workflows which are based on a certain HubSpot user, e.g. only enrolling contacts from a specific contact owner or sending emails to a specific contact owner, those workflows will break if you delete that user.
To maybe summarize:
changing names/labels is not an issue at all
wherever users are explicitly referenced by user name, deleting and adding users will mean that you’ll have to check those workflows
changing team membership usually doesn’t break things
changing permissions doesn’t change the behavior of workflows and sequences but whether users can access them