Merge contacts permissions

This is pretty important!

How ironic is it that this idea here needs to be merged into this idea that is said to be done by end of 2024. They have 3 weeks, will it happen? TBD

Any workaround for this or not ?

HubSpot has added a property “Merged Contact IDs” that you can use in a workflow to provide notifications or create reporting for it, but there’s still no way to limit the usage of this feature.

I’m joining the growing number of voices here chiming in. It’s absolutely astounding that something as fundamental as being able to enable/disable merging records on its own hasn’t yet arrived for HubSpot.

I’ve also faced recent situations where users are merging records that they have no business merging, but I can’t remove their edit access without preventing them from doing other legitimate CRM work. HubSpot is making strides to narrow the gap separating them from Salesforce when it comes to reporting, lists, and views, but user permissions are still sorely lagging behind.

HubSpot, if you’re listening, please address this huge feature gap!

Totally agree -- this is a need for us as well!

This request is over 3 years old with a lot of users asking for it. It appears HubSpot is not listening to their customers on this. If they are listening, and a fix was implemented, perhaps someone from HubSpot could pin the solution to the top of this thread to help us all out? With over 50 people requesting this easy feature add, there’s probably 10x that who want it but haven’t spoken up. Please help us HubSpot :slightly_smiling_face:

The ability for employees to merge deals, contacts and companies has become so probelmatic in our company. Many of the important property values that we use for reporting and our advisory board presentations are being overwritten by improper merging. As a concequence, we verbally have to ask that it is not done, but every once in a while it still happens and each case requires manual correction. It has become an admin nightmare.
I would love to recieve an email/notification once the permission settings have been updated to prevent individual users from merging please :wink:

Come on HubSpot! Your customers have been asking for this function for 3 years! Time to implement it.

This feature is badly needed! Merging records can have huge impacts and should allowed to be limited to admins only. Is this planning to be implemented at all?

I’d like to be able to control who (which team) can merge certain records. For example, an integration we have will break if two records are merged. The team using the integration should obviously be able to edit the records they are assigned but shouldn’t be able to merge the records.

Agree 100%! We keep some of our key HubSpot data in sync with other databases, and dealing with merges is complicated to say the least. Being able to only allow, say, admins to merge records would be a very helpful feature.

@FlywheelKinetic @DustinFrazier Jump into this thread & bump it up if you haven’t already - apparently this request is 4 years old and no progress.

HubSpot Community - Merge contacts permissions - Page 5 - HubSpot Community

We definitely need this capability. People should be able to edit records but not be allowed to merge.

This is critical for us. Our users need to still be able to edit objects, but we need them to stop merging. Untangling a merged company is an incredible amount of work. If not allowing us to prevent merging, at least let us easily undo a merge.

Agreed, There should be a merge permission. Just had to deal with a nightmare with an employee that merged unknowingly, costing us hours of creating new contacts, deals, companies.
OR, just create an “undo merge” button. Either one will work, But this is a necessity.

This is desperatly needed! From a data hygiene perspective, this should be a part of Ops Hub.

Agree with this also, this is integral to us maintaining data quality - the merge functionality doesn’t work properly and we cannot turn it off

Shocked this isn’t seen as a priority - I have just had sync failures on one of our integrations as a result of non-admins conducting merge activities with no idea of the impact (or human cost of having to fix it).

Is this possible yet?