Merge contacts permissions

The ability to designate permissions for merging is critical as any records can currently be merged by anyone and impacts data quality and integrity. This is especially important for companies and contacts. The act of merging two records has more of an impact that if one was deleted (since there is no way to ‘undo’ a merge). Deleting can be restricted and deleted records can be restored. Two key items for merging:

1.Permissions to restrict who can merge (similar to delete)

2.History details for merged records. When merging two records, the only information provided is “<Record X was merged with <Record Y>”. There is no reference to “who” completed the merge and which records were merged.