When you do a major rewrite of a page, the workflow typically goes like this.
You have
Page_v1 → domain.com/page
You clone Page_v1 and rename it Page_v2
When v2 is ready to go, Page_v1 is unpublished or archived. And Page_v2 is published using the slug previously used by Page_v1.
It always creates a mess as the system keeps thinking that the URL is still associated with Page_v1.
Always end up having to contact support to clean up the mess. It’s a big waste of time