# Different user permissions in conversation

**URL:** <https://community.hubspot.com/t/different-user-permissions-in-conversation/65169>\
**Category:** HubSpot Ideas\
**Tags:** professional\
**Created:** [September 15, 2022, 10:38am UTC](https://community.hubspot.com/t/different-user-permissions-in-conversation/65169 "2022-09-15T10:38:11Z")\
**Posts on this page:** 4\
**Page:** 1

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![Grisu](https://d10pqhm3lwygmk.cloudfront.net/user_avatar/community.hubspot.com/grisu/32/104638_2.png) [@Grisu](https://community.hubspot.com/u/Grisu)\
**Post date:** [September 15, 2022, 10:38am UTC](https://community.hubspot.com/t/different-user-permissions-in-conversation/65169/1 "2022-09-15T10:38:11Z")

</div>

If a user is allowed to edit conversations, he can also move messages to the trash. There is currently no way to prevent messages from being permanently deleted from the trash. In all other Hubspot data, the right to delete can be explicitly revoked. Why not in Conversations?

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![BHorvath](https://d10pqhm3lwygmk.cloudfront.net/user_avatar/community.hubspot.com/bhorvath/32/66176_2.png) [@BHorvath](https://community.hubspot.com/u/BHorvath)\
**Post date:** [November 8, 2023, 8:17am UTC](https://community.hubspot.com/t/different-user-permissions-in-conversation/65169/2 "2023-11-08T08:17:55Z")

</div>

+1.

It should be optional to choose

a) which user can and cannot delete a conversation

b) it should be logged in detail if someone deletes a conversation.

This is important even for legal purposes - e.g. complaints are must be stored for several years.

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![JNormand0](https://avatars.discourse-cdn.com/v4/letter/j/db5fbb/32.png) [@JNormand0](https://community.hubspot.com/u/JNormand0)\
**Post date:** [July 24, 2024, 3:19pm UTC](https://community.hubspot.com/t/different-user-permissions-in-conversation/65169/3 "2024-07-24T15:19:22Z")

</div>

This big issue here is that when you delete a conversation, it also deletes the associated ticket. So even if you set user settings to prevent the deletion of tickets, if a user deletes the associated conversation, the ticket gets deleted anyway. This is a big oversight.

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![renanceratto](https://d10pqhm3lwygmk.cloudfront.net/user_avatar/community.hubspot.com/renanceratto/32/93519_2.png) [@renanceratto](https://community.hubspot.com/u/renanceratto)\
**Post date:** [October 11, 2024, 7:06pm UTC](https://community.hubspot.com/t/different-user-permissions-in-conversation/65169/4 "2024-10-11T19:06:41Z")

</div>

+1

I would like to block the conversation deletion, because without this kind of controll, it would be possible to make things disapear if some conversation goes wrong, and we could never understand what happend
