Activities of removed users should remain visible to team / those with "view unassigned" permissions

Problem

Currently, our permission model is that users can view/edit objects and activities assigned to their team only + unassigned. When a team member leaves we deactivate the user, at which point I reassign all their objects, and then we eventually delete them. What I have found is that activities (calls, notes, meetings etc.) owned by a deactivated/removed user are not visible to any users on this permission model — regardless of whether they are part of the same team the removed user had. The impact is that historical activities disappear for team members when someone leaves.

I feel this is a glaring fault in the deactivation/removal process, considering that we are prompted to reassign objects but no mention is made of activities.

Solutions

Ideally, an object/activity with a deactivated/removed owner should count as the team the user was part of, OR be treated as unassigned. Alternatively, having a way to reassign activities at deactivation would mitigate this.

In brief:

  1. Permission behaviour: Please can activities/records owned by deactivated/removed users remain visible to former teammates OR behave as “unassigned” for the purpose of permissions.
  2. Deactivation UX: Alternatively (or in addition), provide an option in the deactivation/removal flow to bulk reassign/unassign activities owned by the user.